Philips DBox2 and settings SW and lists?

The forum for our foreign guests... Please post in English
Antworten
gorski
Neugieriger
Neugieriger

Philips DBox2 and settings SW and lists?

Beitrag von gorski »

Hi, guys!

Many thanx for your hard work and these beautiful things we keep getting from the community! The original FW for DBox2 is terrible! :dash: Your work, on the other hand, is ab fab!!! :wink: I am just a sucker for the Open Source community!!! 8)

Having said that, I think we must give the proper, honest feedback, which will, bit by bit, result in learning and improving the FW and SW.

I'm a complete novice with DBox2. I have had some experience with Humax VACI, DSR Samsung 9500 VIACI, plus a bit with Galaxis McZap CI, Technomate 5200USB and Echolink, though. Done a few settings/channel lists myself, actually. I know what other, simpler receivers can do in terms of editing the list via remote...

Sadly, they have some of the functions better thought through than is the case with DBox2. For instance, so far I haven't discovered the possibility of getting into the list, then marking channels and then deleting the whole lot one chooses with a single OK button pressed. Rather, we must go through a laborious one-by-one procedure.

Worse still: the box wouldn't remember what one does, in such a painstakingly slow manner, and one can see, once in the channels list, how DBox2 is writing them back, one by one, when one returns to a satellite position. If one unplugs the box from the mains, then all is returned in a second. What does one have to do with DBox, please, so one's work would be respected and remembered?!?

My setup: polarmount moved by Pace1008IP old analogue rec; Philips DBox2 [flashed by an expert, as it had to be repaired, too, plus I needed an MC], with an external Multicam; PB Enigma 6.0.1; Satscan plugin downloaded; openDBedit 3.0.6. To begin with, the non-DiSEqC option for many satellites couldn't be remembered...